ESOL (English for speakers of other languages) English language qualifications

    Trinity ESOL qualifications are recognised internationally as reliable evidence of proficiency in English. Trinity exams assess and promote the skills needed for effective communication in real life. These English Language courses are available to individuals, schools, colleges and universities in more than 60 countries.   The most relevant Trinity ESOL exams for application to university are:


    ISE: Integrated Skills in English – available at five CEFR levels (A2-C2)

    A contemporary English qualification with a strong focus on real language performance and promoting the development of transferable skills for study and employability.

    • – A reading, writing, speaking and listening qualification
    • – Assessed through two exam modules: Reading & Writing, and Speaking & Listening.



    GESE: Graded Examinations in Spoken English – available at 12 CEFR levels (A1-C2)

    An English language qualification for people who need to demonstrate their ability to communicate effectively in spoken English.

    • – A speaking and listening qualification
    • – Assessed via a one-to-one oral exam with a Trinity examiner trinitycollege.com/GESE


    Both ISE and GESE are available as UKVI-approved SELT qualifications for visa application purposes: For Listed SELT course providers visit www.trinitycollege.com/SELTcourses

  • Sign up to get the best from the guide

    Get our monthly email newsletter

    Sign Up
    FutureLearn Limited